Skip to Content

Meeting Place FAQ


Meeting Place FAQ

1. What is the International Meeting Place Portfolio Review?

2. Where is the Meeting Place held?

3. What are the dates of the Meeting Place?

4. What happens on the days between sessions?

5. When can I register for the Meeting Place?

6. What happens after July 29, 2015?

7. What if I registered during the early registration period but do not receive a spot?

8. Can I register after early registration ends?

9. How do I know if I received a space in the Meeting Place?

10. When is payment due?

11. Can I register over the phone or at the FotoFest office?

12. Who is eligible to register for the Meeting Place?

13. How much is the registration fee? What does the fee include?

14. Is there a charge to submit a registration form?

15. What payment options does FotoFest accept?

16. Where do I send checks to?

17. How many sessions can I register for?

18. Who are the reviewers in each session?

19. How long does each individual review session last?

20. How many appointments am I guaranteed in each session?

21. How do I schedule an appointment with a reviewer?

22. What if I receive an appointment with a reviewer I do not want to meet with?

23. What is the cancellation policy for Meeting Place registrants?

24. Can I sell my space to someone else to avoid the processing fee?

^back to top

1. What is the International Meeting Place Portfolio Review?

The Meeting Place is a 16-day program of one-on-one meetings where 450 photographic artists show work to over 150 of the most important national and international curators, publishers, gallerists, and photography industry leaders, who provide tangible career opportunities.

^back to top

2. Where is the Meeting Place held?

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown
400 Dallas St.
Houston, TX 77002

^back to top

3. What are the dates of the Meeting Place?

The Meeting Place takes place over 16 days from March 12 – 27, 2016.

The program is organized into four, 4-day sessions:

Session 1: March 12 – March 15, 2016
Session 2: March 17 – March 20, 2016
Session 3: March 22 – March 25, 2016
Session 4: March 27 – March 30, 2016

^back to top

4. What happens on the days between sessions?

Between each session of the Meeting Place, there are “break days” (March 16, March 21, and March 26) where workshops, curatorial forums, exhibition tours, lectures, and symposia take place.

The dates and details of these specific events will be announced at a later date.

^back to top

5. When can I register for the Meeting Place?

Early Registration is June 17 – July 29, 2015

^back to top

6. What happens after July 29, 2015?

Early registration closes at midnight on July 29, 2015. If registrations exceed available space, a lottery will be held on July 30, 2015.

All artists who submit a form during the Early Registration period (June 17 – July 29, 2015) have an equal opportunity of receiving a space in the Meeting Place, regardless of the time and date sent.

Although this is true, FotoFest STRONGLY encourages artists to register as early as they can to avoid any service interruptions on the FotoFest website due to high demand on the last day of early registration (July 29, 2015).

^back to top

7. What if I registered during the early registration period but DO NOT receive a space in the Meeting Place?

Applicants who submit their registration form within the Early Registration period but DO NOT receive a space at the Meeting Place will be automatically placed at the top of the waiting list, in the order they are received.

^back to top

8. Can I register after early registration ends?

Yes, you may still register after early registration ends.

Registrations received after the Early Registration period (after July 29, 2015) will be placed on the waiting list in the order in which they are received.

^back to top

9. How do I know if I received a space in the Meeting Place?

FotoFest will notify all applicants who registered during the early registration period after August 3, 2015.

^back to top

10. When is payment due?

Payment will be due after your space in the Meeting Place has been confirmed. If payment is not received in a timely manner, you may be taken off the registered list so that your space is available to the next person on the waiting list.  

^back to top

11. Can I register over the phone or at the FotoFest office?

Only online registrations completed using the online registration form will be accepted. No telephone, fax, or walk-in registrations accepted.

^back to top

12. Who is eligible to register for the Meeting Place?

The portfolio review is open to all photographic artists and is not pre-juried.

^back to top

13. How much is the registration fee? What does the fee include?

The fee to participate in one session of the Meeting Place is $925. The registration fee includes the following:

• Minimum of 16 individual portfolio reviews during a 4-day session
• Reserved space to participate in the Evenings with the Artists - Open Portfolio Nights, an opportunity to show your portfolio to the general public, other participating artists, additionalreviewers, and local, national, and international collectors
• Inclusion in the Meeting Place Registrant Catalogue given to all reviewers for each session; all participating artists are represented with an image of their work and contact information
• Free access to FotoFest Biennial exhibitions, curator-artist dialogues, seminars, and conferences
• Opportunities for informal reviews with roving reviewers
• Networking opportunities with fellow artists
• Discounted workshop registration

^back to top

14. Is there a charge to submit a registration form?

There is no cost to register.

^back to top

15. What payment options does FotoFest accept?

FotoFest accepts PayPal, major Credit Cards, or payment by check. Checks should be made out to “FotoFest”.

Once your payment has been processed, you will be emailed a payment and registration confirmation.

^back to top

16. Where do I send checks to?

Envelopes should be sent to the following address:

FotoFest International
Attn: Meeting Place
2000 Edwards Street
Bldg. C, Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77007

^back to top

17. How many sessions can I register for?

Artists are able to register for up to two sessions. FotoFest will accommodate as many preferences as possible, however be aware that FotoFest cannot guarantee ALL preferences, as space is limited.

^back to top

18. Who are the reviewers in each session?

Reviewers at the 2016 Meeting Place include important national and international curators, publishers, gallerists, and photography industry leaders who provide tangible career opportunities.

Reviewers are being actively invited to review at the Meeting Place. The reviewer lists will become available on June 17th, 2015. Please note that the reviewer lists are subject to change and are frequently updated.

^back to top

19. How long does each individual review session last?

Each appointment lasts 20 minutes.

^back to top

20. How many appointments am I guaranteed in each session?

Registered artists are guaranteed a MINIMUM of four one-on-one formal review appointments per day -- a guaranteed minimum of 16 appointments per session.  

^back to top

21. How do I schedule an appointment with a reviewer?

FotoFest will send you a preference form in mid-February where you will be able to rank your most preferred reviewers. These preferences are run through a scheduling software that assigns appointments based on your top preferences.

This program is not based on a first come/first serve basis. FotoFest can NOT guarantee that you will receive all of your top preferences.

^back to top

22. What if I receive an appointment with a reviewer I do not want to meet with?

There will be a reviewer exchange board where you will be able to trade appointments with other artists.

^back to top

23. What is the cancellation policy for Meeting Place registrants?

Before December 1, 2015 - FotoFest provides a full refund minus a $100 administrative fee.
After December 1, 2015 - If FotoFest is able to sell the space to someone on the waiting list, a full refund minus a $150 administrative fee will be issued.
After February 1, 2016 - FotoFest will NOT accept any cancellations nor provide refunds.

^back to top

24. Can I sell my space to someone else to avoid the processing fee?

The Meeting Place Registration is NON-TRANSFERABLE. FotoFest will not honor registrations that are sold or traded.

Cancelled registrations are offered to individuals on the Meeting Place waiting list.

^back to top
© COPYRIGHT FOTOFEST
Back to top